ODEE, Ohio State Welcomes 80 Teams to the Ohio Science Olympiad State Tournament on Saturday

More than 1,600 middle and high school students are heading to The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, on Saturday, April 28, for the Ohio Science Olympiad State Tournament.

Managed by the Office of Distance Education and eLearning (ODEE), Ohio Science Olympiad is the state’s premier science competition that allows students in grades 6-12 to demonstrate their skills in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

This year, more than 4,900 students formed 331 teams to compete at regional tournaments to become one of 80 teams to advance to the state tournament.

Science Olympiad tournaments are set up like track and field meets with two separate divisions: Division B (grades 6-9) and Division C (grades 9-12). Teams compete in a series of 23 STEM-related events (such as Mousetrap Vehicle, Herpetology and Thermodynamics) that add up to an overall score.

Teams will be recognized during the tournament awards ceremony at 6:30 p.m. in the French Field House, which will be streamed at go.osu.edu/soawards2018.

The top two teams from each division will move on to compete at the Science Olympiad national tournament on May 18-19, 2018, at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado.

Follow us on Twitter: @OHSciOly

2018 Ohio Science Olympiad Competing Teams

Division B (Middle School)

A.I. Root Middle School

New Albany Middle School

Amherst Junior High School

New Lexington Middle School

Arbor Hills Junior High

New Richmond Middle School

Beachwood Middle School

Northmont Middle School

Brecksville-Broadview Hts. Middle School

Orrville Middle School

Canal Winchester Middle School

Revere Middle School

Chardon Middle School

Rocky River Middle School

Copley-Fairlawn Middle School

Ross Middle School

Eastern Middle School

Seton Catholic School

Grandview Heights Middle School

Shawnee Middle School

Granville Middle School

Solon Middle School

Hadley E. Watts Middle School

Southern Middle School

Hudson Middle School

Springfield Middle School

Kenston Middle School

St. Barnabas Middle School

Magsig Middle School

St. Francis Xavier School

Mason Middle School

The Dayton Regional STEM School

McCord Junior High School

Tower Heights Middle School

Mentor Ridge Middle School

Warren Middle School

Mentor Shore Middle School

West Liberty Salem Middle School

Milford Jr. High School

Westlake Lee Burneson Middle School

Division C (High School)

Alexander High School

Nordonia High School

Archbishop Alter High School

Northmont High School

Archbishop Hoban High School

Olentangy High School

Aurora High School

Olentangy Liberty High School

Beachwood High School

Ottawa Hills High School

Centerville High School

Paulding High School

Chardon High School

Revere High School

Cincinnati Country Day School

Shawnee High School

Columbus Academy High School

Solon High School

Copley-Fairlawn High School

Springfield High School

Ft. Loramie High School

St. Edward High School

Hudson High School

St. Ignatius High School

Kenston High School

St. Xavier High School

Lehman Catholic High School

Sylvania Northview High School

Loveland High School

Sylvania Southview High School

Marietta High School

Thomas Worthington High School

Mason High School

Upper Arlington High School

Medina High School

Walnut Hills High School

Mentor High School

Westlake High School

New Albany High School

Wyoming High School